The Virginia Institute for Psychiatric and Behavioral Genetics was established in 1996. This research program of VIPBG is formed from two closely inter-related research groups who have worked together for more than a decade.

The first of these, the Psychiatric Genetics Research Program (PGRP), is directed by Kenneth Kendler, M.D., and is in the Department of Psychiatry in the School of Medicine at Virginia Commonwealth University. PGRP faculty include Ananda Amstadter, Ph.D., Silviu-Alin Bacanu, Ph.D., Kaitlin Bountress, Ph.D., Ruth Brown, Ph.D., Alexis Edwards, Ph.D., Nathan Gillespie, Ph.D., Robert Kirkpatrick, Ph.D., Michael Neale, Ph.D., Tan Hoang Nguyen, Ph.D., Roseann Peterson, Ph.D., Brien Riley, Ph.D., Roxanne Roberson-Nay, Ph.D., and Christina Sheerin, Ph.D.

The second of these groups, headed by Lindon Eaves, D.Sc., the Genetic Epidemiology Research Group (GERG), is in the Department of Human and Molecular Genetics, which is also in the School of Medicine at VCU. GERG faculty members include Hermine Maes, Ph.D., Judy Silberg, Ph.D., and Timothy York, Ph.D.


Kenneth Kendler

Associate Director

Michael Neale

Professor Emeritus

Lindon Eaves