The 2021 VIPBG Excellence Awards Announced

The Virginia Institute for Psychiatric and Behavioral Genetics pre- and post-doc awards were announced on December 16, 2021. Annually since 2007, one predoctoral and one postdoctoral trainee are selected to receive the awards. The process requires VIPBG faculty members to first nominate exceptional trainees. The final recipients are selected after a faculty discussion and vote. These awards consist of a certificate of recognition in addition to a $500.00 gift.

This year, the awardees include Terrell Hicks, who received the Kenneth S. Kendler Award for Excellence in Pre-Doctoral Research, and Chelsea Sawyers Rooney, Ph.D., who accepted the Lindon Eaves Post-Doctoral Award. Mr. Hicks has been working with Ananda Amstadter, Ph.D., and Dr. Rooney has been working with Jim Bjork, Ph.D.


Related stories